top of page

How French “Marchés” have changed my relationship with food

Farmer’s markets in France are something every American should witness. If you visit, don’t pass up on the opportunity to just go grocery shopping.

Since arriving in France, I’ve tried to take advantage of all the unique “French” benefits around me: the transport in common, the museums, the education, the affordable housing, health insurance, vacatio--well you get the picture. In spite of all the incredible infrastructure, one of the greatest benefits to living in France would have to be the food!

At the marché, you won’t find 60+ different types of cereal or your favorite energy drink. Just affordable, fresh staple foods that are in season. Disclaimer: it requires interacting with members of your community and supporting local businesses.

Here are the six biggest advantages to buying food at the marché:

1. Cheaper

Stock up on tons of food for less! Compared to supermarkets, everything is a fraction of the price. I typically spend around 15-20 euros (which equals approx.18-23 dollars) and walk away with more food than I can carry.

For a frame of reference, my Sunday “haul” at the marché feeds me for the entire week.

2. Healthier

Not only is it cheaper, everything is healthier. You won’t find packaged foods here-- just fresh vegetables, fruits, meats, seafood, and bread. Outside of the staples you can find artisan products like yogurt, butter, dried fruits, olives, jams, and flowers!

Since most of the food you’ll find in a marché comes from local farmers, you only eat what’s in season (it's actually really good for your health!) While there are some things I prefer to buy at the store (rice, pasta, wine) all the perishable items I eat come from the marché… which has encouraged me to eat healthier all around.

3. Zero waste

No packaged goods = no waste. Just remember to bring your own shopping bag!

Personally, I find it refreshing to buy my groceries without being bombarded with advertising and millions of labels. The bonus is it’s also good for the Earth 😊

4. Support local farmers

Producing quality food is a lifestyle and an art. 'Producteurs' or the vendors are very knowledgeable about the food they’re selling and often pretty proud. They’ll help you pick out the right ingredients based on the meal you’re cooking if you ask for suggestions.

Plus, since each vendor is unique, you might even try something new! If you’re looking to try authentic French food this is the place to find it. Cultural note: Don’t take pictures of food without asking first (remember it’s an art.)

5. Meet people in the Community

The marché is its own little microcosm: from the bargaining, joking, and pleasantries, you will start to recognize familiar faces right away.

I definitely have my favorite vendors that I know I can go to for polite conversation and the occasional freebie. It’s a great opportunity to get outside and speak the language: unlike the impersonal big super market experience where you just check yourself out.

6. Something to do on Sunday

As a rule, all stores are closed on Sundays in France. Getting up and going to the marché is a great way to fill the void (you can even incorporate it into a walk!) Both of the markets I frequent have great views:

Marché alimentaire de la Croix-Rousse The one I go to the most often!

Hours : Every day (except Monday), 6am – 1pm

Marché Saint-Antoine Right alongside the river!

Hours : (except Monday), 6am – 1pm

bottom of page